Home » Uncategorized » 2014 NOVEMBER PAD CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE: DAY 7~A “COMPULSION” poem~~

2014 NOVEMBER PAD CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE: DAY 7~A “COMPULSION” poem~~

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2014-november-pad-chapbook-challenge-day-7#comment-3503340

For today’s prompt, write a compulsion poem. On Sundays in autumn, I often feel a compulsion to check how my fantasy football team is doing over and over again. When I was younger, I often felt a compulsion to play Tetris–something about stacking up all those lines. I still often feel compelled to break into song while I make the kids’ lunches each morning before sending them off to school. Maybe your compulsion is writing poems!

COMPULSION

by John Yeo

The hook is firmly implanted,

The wheels of fortune are spinning.

Another win, my eyes are blurred

The jackpot is there to be won.

 

My arms repetitively pulling the handle

The bright lights flash, the die is cast

Clinking, clanking, coins inserted,

Another small win to add to the fun.

 

More change required, I cannot leave,

This machine owes me a jackpot,

I signal a man who brings change.

I decline food until I have won.

 

Wow! That was close, the tumblers stopped,

Two cherries and a bell on display

Three cherries and I win the jackpot.

I scoop another bunch of coins and go on.

 

Suddenly I play with my last few coins,

The jackpot is still nearly won.

If only I had a few more coins

I would be able to continue the fun.

 

I beg the man on the next machine

To advance me a very small loan.

Sorry he says, I am far too busy.

The jackpot still has to be won.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Copyright © ~ Written by John Yeo~ All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

