Home » Uncategorized » 2014 NOVEMBER PAD CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE: DAY 13~An ~”OPTIONS”~ Poem

2014 NOVEMBER PAD CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE: DAY 13~An ~”OPTIONS”~ Poem

For today’s prompt, write an optional poem. And no, that does not mean that writing a poem is optional today–I know a few of you were thinking it. No, no, no. No, I’m thinking of how some things in life are completely optional; in fact, most things are. So you have options for today’s poem–maybe too many–but can one ever have too many options?

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2014-november-pad-chapbook-challenge-day-13

OPTIONS UNSEEN

by John Yeo

 I walk very close to the wall

The traffic noise is very loud.

I love the smell of fish and chips

 I get when I pass this way.

The rain starts, I feel the wet

The tyres of the traffic spray,

I pass the school, the children laugh

I love to hear them play.

My white stick helps me along,

I know when I reach the corner.

I stand at the crossing and wait

Someone will help me across.

My options are very limited,

I stand at the corner and wait.

I hear the bleep, I can safely cross

Then I step out into the road.

The only alternative option is

To wait and get wet in the rain.

 

Copyright ©  Written by John Yeo All rights reserved.

tumblr_lbeseyy9JZ1qdexmzo1_1280

Image from the netblind-man

Leave a Reply

