Home » APRIL~POEM-A-DAY » APRIL~”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY THIRTEEN ~ CONFESSION POEM

APRIL~”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY THIRTEEN ~ CONFESSION POEM

For today’s prompt, write a confession poem. For some poets, this may come naturally–confessing feelings, actions, and/or intentions. For others, it may be hard to get personal. That’s OK; take on another persona and write a “confession” for that person, animal, inanimate object, whatever.

image

Image © John and Margaret

CONFESSION POEM

by John Yeo

The cancer is very advanced,
Doctor you tell me I’ll die
The writing is on the wall.
~
I responded to the patient’s call
The cancer is incurable,
The patient is ready to die
The writing is certainly on the wall.
~
“I have a confession to make,
Will you hear my deathbed plea?”
I offered to call the chaplain,
“Please. No! I never believed”
~
Will you let me get this off my chest?
I would like to tell you in confidence
I have always done my level best
Something has always haunted me.”
~
“My wife is my Uncle’s daughter,
We fell madly in love and wed.
The only people who know the truth
Sadly are now all dead.
~
We married under false pretences
With a nod and a wink and love.
Some say our incestuous union
Is against the laws of God.
~
Please respect my confidence
In your special capacity.
My wife will inform our children
When they are old enough to see.
~
I would like you to offer her support
And assure her of my love for her.
We have known and trusted you for years
As a professional and a very good friend.
~
Thank-You

Copyright © Written by John Yeo~ All rights reserved.

Written for Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic asides blog on “Writers Digest”

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2015-april-pad-challenge-day-13

Leave a Reply

