Home » APRIL~POEM-A-DAY » APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY TWENTY~ MY BLANK, THE BLANK POEM:

APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY TWENTY~ MY BLANK, THE BLANK POEM:

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “My (blank), the (blank),” replace the blanks with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. Possible titles include: “My Dentist, the Torture Expert,” “My Lunch, the Thing I Got Out of the Vending Machine,” “My Father, the Comedian,” or “My Life, the Punchline.”

OAK

Image from the net

MY ACORN THE OAK

by John Yeo

My tiny little green acorn

The seed of a mighty Oak.

I found it on my walk today

Green and shiny in a cup.

 ~

I planted the acorn in a pot

Nothing happened for a month

I dug it up to take a look

My acorn had turned brown.

 ~

I covered the lifeless looking seed

With fresh soil and water.

One year later a tiny shoot

With two green leaves appeared.

 ~

A baby tree quickly grew

With a twig for a trunk.

Then my  lively baby Oak

Became too big for the pot.

I dug a hole in my garden

Then planted my growing Oak.

Five years later our tree provides

Shelter and shade for our family.

As time passes my great tree

Is now home to many creatures.

Birds, insects and squirrells

Live there and eat the seeds.

 ~

When I pass away from my life,

When I am no longer here to see.

My Oak will continue to grow

And become my legacy.

 ~

Copyright (c) Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

Written for Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic asides blog on “Writers Digest”

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2015-april-pad-challenge-day-20

Leave a Reply

