Home » November 2015 Poem-a-Day » NOVEMBER 2015 ~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~ DAY FOUR ~ ‘ONCE UPON A (BLANK) …..’ POEM

NOVEMBER 2015 ~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~ DAY FOUR ~ ‘ONCE UPON A (BLANK) …..’ POEM

IMG_7456

Image © Copyright John and Margaret

ONCE UPON A RAINY DAY

by John Yeo

Once upon a rainy day,
I stumbled through the double doors
When umbrellas were in short supply.
Coat collar turned up against the wind.
The rain still managed to blind my eyes
Once upon a raindrop, shaken on the mat.

~

One of a million combinations of words.
That chose to blind my eyes,
I blinked at the illustrious company
Featured in the bright array.

~

Then my imagination got underway
I heard the scream, my inner ears working,
I sensed a crash as the body fell.
The temperature was mild but bright
when the shot rang out with a silent bang.

~

Once upon a rainy day,
The deafening sirens, silently sounded
I had mentally disposed of the gun.
I was unable to see where I put it.
Perhaps it was in the mystery section.

~

I stumbled into politics religion and science
I came across a very learned conversation
Clearly and cleverly argued, between,
A scientist, a priest and a statesman
To confound my mind and obscure my vision.

~

The magical day was here at last
As a lady smiled, holding a parasol.
I had searched through the travel section
To no avail. Cruising to exotic climes,
Sailing along on a warm wet breeze.

~

Once upon a rainy day.

Sheltering in the library.

~

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

