Home » November 2016 Poem-aDay » 1st November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 1

1st November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 1

2016 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 1
By: Robert Lee Brewer | November 1, 2016

For today’s prompt, we’ve actually got a two-for-Tuesday prompt. So pick one, combine both prompts into one poem, or write two (or more) different poems. Here are the prompts:

Write a stay poem. A poem about staying put, not leaving, and/or dealing with someone (or something) that refuses to leave. Or…
Write a, go poem, basically the opposite of staying–you know, going.

~~~~~~

Well, I have decided to have a go at the challenge and here goes my first attempt. Two very different poems.

Poppies

Image Copyright © John and Margaret

STAYING PUT

by John Yeo

~

Look here World!

I’m not afraid of your moody imbalance

Regardless of what you throw my way.

I have broken out of my previous trance

I’m staying put regardless.

~

Thank you, Fate!

For your inconsiderate pressure applied

To make my life unbearably sad.

I’ve decided I will not run and hide.

I’m staying where I am.

~

My pleasure Love

You turned your back, left me here deserted

Left me to struggle and stand alone.

Love withdrawn normality now perverted

I refuse to break I’m staying put.

~

Hello new Reality

I never ran away from the harsh cruel blows

I stubbornly stood  and faced them.

When you came along, new hope arose.

We stood our ground together.

~

(STAY)

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

IMG_8829

Image Copyright © John and Margaret

GONE WITH THE WIND

by John Yeo

~

Spring blossom-laden boughs have long gone

The summer sun scorches fresh green leaves,

The trees thirst for moisture.

~

Soft breezes gently waft through the boughs.

Green leaves slowly change colour,

An artist has been at work.

~

Reds, Golds, Yellows and Browns mingle freely

A stunning colourful landscape revealed,

The winds begin to blow stronger.

~

The colourful splendour is slowly thinning

As the leaves begin to tremble and fall

Autumn changes begin.

~

Raging winds roughly alter the scene

Tearing the leaves from the branches

Winter has arrived.

~

Stark leafless trees stand forlornly bare

Standing out in naked splendour

Their leaves gone with the wind.

~

(GO)

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

~~~~~~~~

Written for November Chapbook Challenge

2016 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 1

Leave a Reply

