Home » Poetry Prompts ~ » 4th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 4

4th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 4

2016 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 4
By: Robert Lee Brewer ~ November 4, 2016

For today’s prompt, write an imagined life poem. The imagined life could be your own or imagining a life for someone else–like a person you see at the bus stop, grocery store, or library. If for yourself, the imagined life might be another possible parallel outcome or a possible future (for better or worse).

There is a strange difficulty in trying to understand and relate to another person’s life. Peace ☮️ 🎎

hope

Image supplied by pixabay.com

 

TOM


by John Yeo

Everyone calls him Tom, who really cares?
He stands  with his hand out every day
Never says a  word, just stands, and stares.
On  the same  corner of the highway.

I always put a coin in his hand as I passed,
He never smiled, just stared straight ahead.
I often wondered about his life in the past
One day I caught his eye and I said.

“I know who you are, It was a mystery.
I think you are certainly out of place
I have  weaved your life into a history
The fall must have hurt but it’s no disgrace.”

Tom looked shocked and angry.
For the first time ever, he actually spoke.
“I  beg for food as I’m hungry!
I was wealthy once but now I’m broke.”

The voice was nervous and cultured
Betraying the roots of  fine living.
I had guessed a good life was ruptured
Destroyed by cruel fate, unforgiving

“I have written  a new turn for your story .”
I said as I put a coin in his hand.
“You will now be covered in glory
I am a writer you understand.”

Everyone called him Tom, who really cared?
He stood  with his hand out every day
Never said a  word, just stood and stared.
On  the same corner of the highway.

The original Tom was a sad mystery.
An unhappy life confined to history.



Copyright © written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

