Home » November 2016 Poem-aDay » 9th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 9

9th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 9

2016 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 9
By: Robert Lee Brewer ~ November 9, 2016

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “Call Me (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then write the poem. Possible titles include: “Call Me Al,” “Call Me Crazy,” “Call Me Batman,” “Call Me at 3 O’clock in the Morning,” etc.

img_1415
Image courtesy of pixabay.com

CALL ME AGAIN

by John Yeo

Call me again, just say hello. I promise to never hang up the phone;
It’s so good to have someone to talk to, I get lonely here on my own.
I spoke to someone this morning we had such a lovely long chat
He wanted to sell me something nice, I asked for more details on that.
I explained my situation clearly, so nice to have a friendly ear,
He asked for my bank details in such a nice helpful way.
I asked him if he was married and how things were with him.
He finally got exasperated and rudely slammed down the phone.
Slam!

~

You say my computer needs a new service plan!
Tell me more, sounds interesting, so nice to have a chat.
What is your name and where do you live? I would love to meet.
You would like to have my bank details to start the plan?
Great to hear a friendly voice. Give me your bank details first!”
Slam!

~

“Hello! Yes, Double Glazing? That sounds so interesting .
I would love to hear more about that, you have such a friendly voice.
Call me again, just say hello. I promise to never hang up the phone;
It’s so good to have someone to talk to, I get lonely here on my own.

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

