Home » November 2016 Poem-aDay » 18th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 18

18th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 18

2016 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 18
By: Robert Lee Brewer ~ November 18, 2016

For today’s prompt, write a poem that uses the following six words:

band
logic
pack
web
froth
clean
You can write a sestina, villanelle, free verse, or haiku. Just be sure to use the six words in any possible combination that you can manage.

img_1438

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

 

THE CONMAN.   (A villanelle structured poem)

by John Yeo

I avoided getting caught in the intricate web,
Becoming Just another card in the pack;
My admiration for him never turned my head.

~

I kept my distance stayed free instead,
Using my ingrained logic, I stayed back;
I avoided getting caught in the intricate web.

~
I escaped clean away quickly or I’d be dead,
I’m part of the band taking a solitary track,
My admiration for him never turned my head.

~

The inn on the way was the place to dread,
Our meeting took place in the dusty back;
I avoided getting caught in the intricate web.

~

The froth on his promise never soaked my bread;
The smart trickster used words to subtly attack,
My admiration for him never turned my head.

~

I avoided the invitation to join in the thread
Of broken promises without any comeback;
I avoided getting caught in the intricate web,
My admiration for him never turned my head.

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

 

Leave a Reply

