Home » November 2016 Poem-aDay » 23 rd November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 23

23 rd November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 23

2016 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 23

By: Robert Lee Brewer ~ November 23, 2016

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “When (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then write the poem. Possible titles include: “When in Rome,” “When Doves Cry,” “When You Can’t Say When,” “Whenever You Want,” etc.

IMG_1469.JPG

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

WHEN I GROW UP

by John Yeo

When I grow up I want to be free
Off all the things that are holding me back
When I grow up I want to be really me.

I’ll be branching out growing strong like a tree
Removing the shackles to get right on track,
When I grow up I want to be free.

I’ll quickly dispose of childish immaturity
Reaching upwards to grasp all I lack
When I grow up I want to be really me.

My mind will be reaching for my destiny
Shaking off sad thinking and retract
When I grow up I want to be free.

I’ll change my life and become carefree
Pushing to my goal without drawback
When I grow up I want to be free
When I grow up I want to be really me.

 

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

 

Leave a Reply

