Home » November 2016 Poem-aDay » 27th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 27

27th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 27

2016 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 27
By: Robert Lee Brewer ~ November 27, 2016

For today’s prompt, write a falling apart poem. The poem could be about a crumbling house, tree losing its leaves, or a car that’s breaking down. Of course, people break down and fall apart all the time–in both large and small ways.

img_1530

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

FALLING APART

by John Yeo

 

“Stress!” Shouted the Psychiatrist bluntly.
“You mean you’re really seriously unwell,
Living here in this wonderful country,
Cozy In a comfortable hotel.
Can you be suffering emotionally
When you have everything you really need?
You live in the lap of pure luxury
Self indulgence bordering on plain greed.

You say you are bothered by some bad dreams,
That intrude on your mental wellbeing .
Some of us have to work hard and it seems
Your state of mind is beyond bad dreaming.
I have three ex-wives with kids to support.
My dreams are a nasty reality:
Reality’s a dream that can’t be bought
I am suffering emotionally.

I get drunk every night to ease the pain
Of my personal unhealthy casework,
Then I get up early to work again
My mind is making my life go berserk.
I soak up suffering without complaint,
My workload never ever decreases;
I’m sorry my dear you are feeling faint
And your soft life is falling to pieces.”

 

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

 

Leave a Reply

