Home » November 2016 Poem-aDay » 28th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 28

28th November 2016 ~ Poetry Challenge ~ Day 28

2016 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 28
By: Robert Lee Brewer ~ November 28, 2016

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “I Want (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then write the poem. Possible titles include: “I Want Money,” “I Want a Second Chance,” “I Want My Name in Lights,” “I Want an Extra Hour of Sleep Each Day,” etc.

img_1532

I WANT TO KNOW WHAT I WANT

by John Yeo

The question is… “What do I want?”

This was never going to be easy,
There are so many lacks in most of life,
What I want must fulfil a need for me!
Interpreting a want isn’t easy
Do I want an end to trouble and strife?
This was never going to be easy.
That answer still makes me feel uneasy,
Peace on earth? Wealth? A healthy calm goodlife?
What I want must fulfil a need for me!
As I grow older and think carefully,
My mind drifts with worldly cares rife.
This was never going to be easy.
I narrow my want and thinking deeply,
Am I getting selfish to include my wife?
What I want must fulfil a need for me!
I want her to be happy completely;
Never want for anything all her life.
This was never going to,be easy,
What I want must fulfil a need for me!

 

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

