Home » Fiction » SCRAP

SCRAP

Prompt response based on the word of the day ~ 15th December 2016

Word for the day ~ SCRAP

scrap-cars

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

SCRAP

by John Yeo

    “Get rid of it! It’s an eyesore; a blight on the neighbourhood. I don’t care how much of a sentimental value it has for you. I can’t stand the sight of it outside our house every time I open the front door.” This was said in a voice that was clearly coming from a person who was fed-up and at the end of his tether.

     “But Dad!” I responded. “It’s a……”

   “NO BUTS!” Shouted my Father, obdurately. “I want you to get rid of it; send it to the scrapyard! It’s absolutely worthless.”

   “Dad this is a Vintage car that will be worth a lot of money when I get around to fixing it up, I will show you it’s much too good to be consigned to scrap.”

    “I DON’T CARE! You’ve had plenty of time to do the repairs. I want it removed now!” My father was a stern man when he was in the mood of absolute, obdurate stubbornness that he was revealing at this moment.

   My Mother arrived with a handful of scraps to feed the birds in our garden looking quite nervous at the sound of this altercation.

  “What’s going on? I can hear you two having words all over the house. I am sure our neighbours think you two are having a scrap. I would like to know what the problem is. Maybe I can help.” she said tossing the food scraps on our lawn.

 My Father then said: “I have insisted we finally get this heap of scrap towed away from the front of our house and demolished. Blown up with several tonnes of explosive would be a solution if you ask me.”

 At that precise moment, a scrappy looking individual on a horse and cart rode past our house just as my Father used the word, explosive. Turning to him and smiling my Father said. “How much would you offer us for this vehicle?”

“£50 is the best price I can do.”  he replied.

My Father smiled and said. “Yes, certainly you can have it for £50.”

The traveller smiled and said. “I’ll take the cash now, and get rid of the car tomorrow, OK!”

“WHAT! You mean you will charge me to take it away! Clear off before I call the police. You thief!” yelled my Father, shocked.

With that, the traveller produced a scrap of paper and scrawled a telephone number down. “Call this number if you change your mind.”

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

