Home » Uncategorized » BARE BONES

BARE BONES

I wrote a Villanelle style poem inspired by this odd photograph I snapped on our walk in Sheringham Park yesterday.

img_1635

Image © Copyright ~ John and Margaret

BARE BONES

by John Yeo

In Summer I was covered in ephemeral glory.
How does a mere man understand?
Winds have blown fiercely and savaged my story.

My leafy branches are now part of history;
Mordantly I stand in this thick woodland,
In Summer I was covered in ephemeral glory.

Life will always be a strange puzzling mystery
The obvious connection between tree and land
Winds have blown fiercely and savaged my story.

The cycles of Nature connecting all things freely
Here, looking bare and leafless I stand,
In Summer I was covered in ephemeral glory.

Woodland creatures sought shelter and safety
In leaf-filled energy swirling over the land;
Winds have blown fiercely and savaged my story.

Spring buds will arrive announcing normality
This leafless dormancy  is a natural demand
In Summer I was covered in ephemeral glory.
Winds have blown fiercely and savaged my story.



Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

