Home » Fiction » RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION

Prompt response based on the word of the day ~30th December 2016

http://daily.wordreference.com/2016/12/30/intermediate-word-of-the-day-resolution/

img_1712

Image courtesy of poxabay.com

RESOLUTION

by John Yeo

  “My New Year resolution!” Exclaimed Sir Jarvis, “Is to make a million, I don’t care how I make it, I intend to cut corners, tread on the ingrained resolutely negative opinions of as many people as becomes necessary.
   I am going to look closely at what is going on in the family business and solve the problems that are haunting us. Once I bring these problems to a resolution, we will see the way ahead clearly with an improved resolution of the optical illusion that is blinding us all to the severity of the current situation.”
  The members of the board were stunned into silence at these ominous words:

   Ferdinand the manager of the family business was suddenly white with shock. “What do you mean Sir Jarvis? Treading on people! Surely not our loyal staff? Or bringing hardship to our suppliers? I can only think your resolution refers to the customers, surely we will never get away with screwing another million pounds out of our long suffering customers?”

    “No Ferdinand; none of these outrageous solutions will answer the need for a swift resolution to our problems. My ultimate resolution of this situation is to sell up and retire on the proceeds. I should easily make my resolved figure from the sale as we are still a going concern.”
  There was uproar as the members of the board realised the implications of this decision.

  Sir Jarvis was resolved in his decision and went on speaking with newly strengthened resolution. “My decision is irreversible, resolved and set in stone. I’m selling out.”

  There was a pause and Sir Jarvis went on to say. “I have had an offer from an entrepreneur who is prepared to pay the price and keep the staff on. My apologies for the suddenness of this resolution. I feel this new management will inject new ideas into our business.
Our paintings and prints, artworks and illustrations will continue to shine with an incredibly brilliant new resolution, under the golden influence of the new President. God Save the Company!”

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

